FA Cup


English FA Cup is the oldest football cup in the world. It`s founded in 1871 year and have almost 150 years history. The competition was not played during First World War and World War II. This national football competition in most popular football cup in England, and is launched every year. During the years FA Cup is known as The Football Association Challenge Cup, and from 2015 till now because of sponsorship reason is known as The Emirates FA Cup.

FA Cup is a knockout football tournament where participate all teams from Premier League, English Football League and clubs from level 1 to 6 from National League System. The tournament starts in August and end in May. Usually in tournament participate more than 700 football teams. The FA Cup starts with Extra Preliminary Round and Preliminary Round, followed by 12 rounds. First 4 rounds are qualifying rounds. The other 5 rounds, quarter-final, semi-final and the final are real competition. Different clubs enters in different rounds of the tournament, depending on football league they participate. For example in First Round of real competition joins clubs from League One and League Two, while in Third Round joins teams from Premiership and Championship. The winner of tournament receive FA Cup trophy, and also is one of the clubs qualified for UEFA Europa League.

The club with most FA Cup trophies is Arsenal – 13 times, followed by Manchester United – 12 times, on third place with 8 titles are Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur.

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info I Understand