Europa League


UEFA Europa League is launched in 1971 under the name UEFA Cup and in 2009/10 the name was changed to UEFA Europa League. This is an European football club tournament which is organized each year and it is second-popular club football event in the continent right after UEFA Champions League. Clubs from each nation can qualify for the competition through many options, mainly depending on place taken in his country football season, national association ranking in UEFA table, if the club won his national football cup and many more factors. The tournament is separated on 1st, 2nd and 3rd qualifying round, play-off round, group round, and knockout stage. In qualifying rounds and play-off rounds take participation more than 150 clubs from each national associations registered in UEFA.

Group stage is formed by 48 clubs, divided in 12 groups with 4 teams for each group. Teams play two matches 1 “home” and 1 “away” against every other team from group. Top 2 clubs placed on 1st and 2nd place in his group are advancing to next knockout round.

Knockout round contains 32 clubs – 24 clubs taken 1st and 2nd place in each group from group stage and 8 clubs finished in 3rd place in UEFA Champions League group stage. The winner of the tournament is awarded with cup and 8,5 millions euro. The losing finalist receive 4,5 millions euro. Sevilla is the club with most cups won – 5, followed by Liverpool, Juventus, Internazionale and Atletico Madrid who have 3 cup won each.

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info I Understand