La Liga


This is highest football division in Spain and one of the toughest football championship in the Europe. In La Liga participate twenty clubs. Each club play two matches, one as host and one as guest against every other club for a total of 38 matches. Clubs are ranked in table according to points they won. Because of the high position in UEFA ranking at the end of the season, top four clubs are qualified for UEFA Champion League group stage, 5th and 6th club are qualified for UEFA Europa League group stage, and the 7th team is qualified for UEFA Europa League qualification phase. Last three clubs in La Liga table are demoted to lower La Liga 2 and the 2 spots are taken from clubs finished on 1st and 2nd place in La Liga 2. The third spot in La Liga is taken by the winner of play-offs between 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th clubs in La Liga 2.

Most of the teams in La Liga are well known in all over the world from their good performance in UEFA Champion League and UEFA Europa League. Top 3 clubs with most champion titles are Real Madrid – 33 titles and 23 times were 2nd, Barcelona with 25 titles and 25 times finished on 2nd place and Atletico Madrid – 10 times champion of Spain and 10 times finished 2nd.

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More info I Understand